Showing posts with label Eclipse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Eclipse. Show all posts

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Run maven commands in Eclipse as External Tool

You might already know what is maven; it's a tool to build / compile or package java project...
Apache Maven is a software project management and comprehension tool. Based on the concept of a project object model (POM), Maven can manage a project's build, reporting and documentation from a central piece of information.
Here, I want to show how to configure maven to use as external tool in eclipse IDE so easy for you to execute maven commands from the Eclipse interface easy without needing to open a DOS prompt to use. Here is the procedure:

1. Suppose maven 2 already install some where on your PC, (mine is in D:\Work\install\Tools\maven-2.0.4)
2. From the menu bar, select Window > Preferences. Select the Run/Debug > String Substitution. Add a new variable e.g. maven_exec.
3. Set up a new external launcher from the menu bar, select Run > External Tools. Select Program
4. Create each maven task, example: in here, I create only the build classpath
  • On program, create a new program and name as: build_classpath (any name as you wish)
  • In location box: choose our created variable: maven_exec
  • In Working Directory: choose variable: project_loc
  • In Argument, give maven command, in here is: eclipse:clean eclipse:eclipse
  • Click on Apply and Run if you wish now
5. So you can execute the external tool program by execute Run button, result should be in console tab:

Enjoy,

Friday, August 28, 2009

In brief about Eclipse IDE

Eclipse is a multi-language software development environment comprising an IDE and a plug-in system to extend it. It is written primarily in Java and can be used to develop applications in Java and, by means of the various plug-ins, in other languages as well, including C, C++, COBOL, Python, Perl, PHP, and others.[1]

Website: http://www.eclipse.org/

Download: http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/

Current version: Galileo, 3.5: http://wiki.eclipse.org/Galileo

Eclipse IDE is suitable with:

- J2EE Development (To use Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers)

- Java Development (To use Eclipse IDE for Java Developer)

- PHP Development (To use Eclipse IDE for PHP Development)

- C/C++ Development (To use Eclipse IDE for C/C++ Development)

- Etc.

Installation/To start:

- Jdk requires to install before install Eclipse, in new version of Eclipse 3.5 requires at least jdk 1.5

- Just extract the eclipse and copy to some where in your PC

- Point to your workspace, create project and develop your application as well.

Screenshot: (Other screens see: http://www.eclipse.org/screenshots/)

Easy ways/Shortcuts:

- Wanna to go every where can start with shortcut: Ctrl + 3

- To see all shortcut: Ctrl + Shift + L

- Rename on variable/method to change all reference: Alt + Shift + R

- Search any file: Ctrl + Shift + R

- Go to line number: Ctrl + L

- Create View Object (set / get methods): Alt + Shift + S and choose: Generate Getters and Setters

- Etc.



[1] See wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eclipse_(software)

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Flex build 3.0.194161 not working with Eclipse 3.4 solution

First I install flex (build: 3.0.194161) to use with Eclipse 3.2.1, it’s working fine.

I wan to use my existing flex plugin with Eclipse 3.4, I got problem as describe in this post.

I wanna to try to use both eclipse with the same flex plugin, with Eclipse 3.4 I try to install Flex plugin by Software Updates but I could not.

I found the solution on the net, thanks to Tekool.net

I have removed the Flex plugin and then re-install the flex plugin, point to Eclipse 3.4 and Proceed it with Caution










After done, download the patch provided in Tekool.net (Direct download here)
Replace the plug-in of the patch into Eclipse plug-in of Flex Plug-in









And at Eclipse start up add parameter -clean: eclipse.exe -clean
Or from the Flex launcher add this parameter too:
eclipse.exe -clean -showlocation -vm ...

It's working for me now.

Add external extension to Eclipse 3.4

I got wonder when I try to find place to add External Extension in Eclipse 3.4 because it doesn't have the URL as: Help -> Software Updates -> Manage Configurations as Eclipse 3.2.x

On the net, I found the solution, here it is:
Go to: Help -> Software Updates : One windows will come up
On Tab Available Softwares, Click on Add Site and Then Choose Locale Button to browse for the plug-in to add
Finally Click Install

See the screen shot: